No crying in the crib

Last night our precious baby boy slept for a solid four and a half hours, I imagine some people would be thinking well my baby sleeps for that long every night and that is great.  Out of the four and a half hours I benefited from four of those magical hours between 10pm and 2am.

Timothy for a couple of days now has been starting off the night in his nursery.  At around 6pm I feed Timothy in our bedroom and when he has fallen asleep I carry him into the nursery and place him in his crib when he wakes I will rock him or feed him in the nursing chair and pop him back into his crib.   Between 9pm and 10pm Timothy will wake again to be fed and then I’ll put him back into his crib.

I sleep with both the nursery door and bedroom door open and with the video monitor on.  Last night just before 2am I had to go and check on Timothy because he hadn’t woken up around 12 as he normally does.  After I had returned to bed after going via the utility room  and putting the washing machine on I felt wonderfully refreshed after four hours of uninterrupted sleep I heard a little cry which broke the silence and dashed into the nursery picked up Timothy changed his nappy and fed him and placed him back in his crib.  After returning to my bedroom a heard another little cry and decided that Timothy had done wonderfully well at sleeping by himself that I’d pop him in bed with my husband and I.

On my side of the bed I have a child bed guard that folds up and down.  When Timothy is in bed with me I have the bed guard up so that I know he is safe and won’t be able to roll out and hurt himself.

Knowing that Timothy is happy and settled at night time is important to me.  I don’t want Timothy to be in a distressed state and feel that by this gentle transition between his own crib in the nursery and our bedroom we have found a happy medium.  Clearly Timothy is happy and content being in his nursery even if it’s only for half of the night.

Letting Timothy cry himself into a distressed state isn’t an option in fact Psychology Today  has an interesting article entitled Dangers of “Cry It Out” which makes for interesting reading whichever side of the fence you sit with crying at bedtime.

I believe that a good bedtime routine is important, I sing the same song as we walk up stairs at bedtime which is helpfully as he will always associate this particular song with going to bed and read to Timothy as I begin to feed him.  Does it always work no of course not, but around 95% of the time this bedtime routine works a dream.

14445945_10153949922533424_8503737869838989498_n

Happy Wednesday Friends!

 

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

