Feeling ready

You shouldn’t always listen to your feelings.  If you felt like eating everything you set eyes on pretty soon you’d be as big as a house.  Or if had a feeling that running around the neighborhood in your birthday suit was a fantastic idea, you might find it could be the wrong thing to feel like doing.

Sometimes listening to your feelings is the best thing you can do.  It’s often difficult to know always what is best to do especially with your new baby I’m still trying to figure it all out but I’m learning that with every aspect of babies other people have their own feelings on the matter.

Breast feeding is a big deal I have found in the mummy world each with their own ideas some are happy go lucky and other have extremely strong opinions and seem to give the impression that you’ve got it wrong if you don’t follow the trend.

I don’t have many regrets so far on the way I have done mummy and baby things the only big one is that I wished I had waited a few more weeks to introduce food than feeling pressured into doing so by the hospital consultant at Timothy’s 6 month review.  We didn’t feel ready we didn’t feel Timothy was ready to be introduced to food, I wish I had listened to my feelings.

Timothy has slept in our bedroom since we brought him home from the hospital I love having him so close and with feeding him it’s much easier.  I haven’t felt that him or I are ready for the transition into the nursery until this evening when I decided that I would put Timothy to his big boy cot to begin with but when he wakes up either around 10 or midnight I’ll bring him back into our room and put him in bed with us.

I realise that bed sharing isn’t everyone’s cup of tea I feel it works for us.  Everyone gets to sleep, everyone is happy.  Is it for everyone probably not, do I think that everyone should be like me, no.

Gentle transition into the nursery is what I feel will work best in our situation, some would disagree but each mummy or daddy ought to do their best by their child.

Research is important, talking to other mummies about their experiences can help inform you on what is best for your situation.

dscn14481

At the end of the day our goal should be the same to raise babies that are happy and healthy.

Happy Friday Friends!

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

