African tribal ladies

Today our precious baby boy Timothy turned eight months which is very exciting.  Time hasn’t flown by at all however the day he was born is still extremely fresh in my mind 4:36pm and 6lb  10oz and hairy!

DSCN1154[1]

My little bundle of joy now can crawl forwards, roller over and sit up!  Clearly massive leaps and bounds in size and ability since his birth which make every day challenging and exciting.

DSCN1160[1]

Timothy and I these past eight months have found the joys of baby wearing.  Timothy loves to be held and be close to me or my husband and will contently be carried around the house or while we are out.

This week Timothy and I decided to walk, well I walked carrying Timothy the 2 mile round trip to the supermarket.  The walk is wonderful and interesting and rather relaxing on the way but the way back is all up hill which is fine and thanks to this hill I’m staying in great shape.

Now walking with my growing baby boy in the carrier with a heavy bag of shopping up the hill made me think about the African tribal ladies who walk miles to get water possibly carrying an infant and a large container of water on their head.  Clearly my bag of shopping wasn’t on my head and probably wouldn’t weigh as much as the water but I imagined what life must be like and how physically strong they must be.

The following day after carrying the shopping up the hill I met a lovely older lady as I was beginning the assent up the hill she commented how nice it was to see me carrying my baby instead of pushing him in a pram.

My husband and I love to carry Timothy it is wonderful to have such a beautiful close connection with our son.  Even though I feed Timothy myself it is another way of sharing a moment with him.

DSCN1206[1]

African tribal ladies I can’t imagine what life must be like for you but I imagine that you must share a close connection with your babies as you carry them close to you as you go about your day.  I often find it a little hard to cook with Timothy in his carrier but you manage to carry water miles without spilling a drop while you carry your sleeping baby close to you.

Next time I carry my beautiful baby boy I will think of you African tribal ladies doing the same.

Happy 8 months Timothy!

 

 

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

