Food For Fun

I dislike the word weaning greatly.  Not to the extent that I become angry when people mention the word, but I don’t feel that it’s a helpful way of explaining the introduction of food to a baby.

At four months here in the UK every new Mummy gets the weaning talk.  At four months your still trying to enjoy your new baby, feeling tired but feel like that a routine has been mastered.  Having the health visitor give the ‘weaning talk’ is really the last thing you want to hear or at least the last thing I was interested in.

At the start of July Timothy turned six months and had his Neonatal appointment the Doctor asked if I had begun to wean Timothy and I said not she didn’t seem pleased and said that I needed to speak to the health visitor.  Disappointed I gave Timothy his first tiny miniature spoonfuls of avocado mixed with breast milk…Weaning had begun.

I didn’t feel ready I wanted to wait a couple more weeks before introducing Timothy to food.  I wanted to feel comfortable about this frightful phrase thrown around the Mummy world…Weaning…

Today I heard someone say…Food For Fun Before One…this helped me to understand what I have been doing for the last two and a half weeks.

I’m not weaning my baby off of breast feeding, as this is his main source of ‘food’.  Breast feeding Timothy is important and just because I’ve given Timothy tiny miniature spoons of avocado, pea, spinach, cabbage, broccoli and cauliflower  doesn’t mean that I’m going to suddenly begin to breast feed him less.

Food For Fun Before One is a refreshing phrase for me to understand about the introduction of food to my baby.  I’m NOT weaning Timothy I’m simply introducing him to foods.  I still feel that I began introducing food a couple weeks before I and he were ready however Food Fun has begun!

DSCN0384[1]

Happy Thursday Friends!

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

One response to “Food For Fun

  1. Natasha

    Great post and very true that food for babies should be fun. They are exploring tastes and textures though I do think the marketing of baby food can give the impression that milk (whether formula or breast milk) is not enough. You sound like your very much enjoying your time with Timothy, hope your all doing well xx

Leave a Reply

