Cotton On

Today I woke up and remembered that today was the day I was heading back to one of my new favourite places Barton Grange to attend a workshop. 

image

The workshop which I had signed up to a number of weeks ago was ‘Cotton On’ Needlefelt  Christmas Decorations Class.  Since signing up to the workshop I have been looking forward to attending as I love art and Christmas! 

I arrived a little early so I spent a short time looking around once again the beautiful Christmas displays within the garden centre before finally heading into the Green Room where the workshop was taking place. 

The tutor was so lovely when I arrived as were the other ladies who had signed up to take part.  The tutor introduced herself briefly explaining her various art related qualifications and skills before commencing with the workshop. 

The tutor demonstrated two different decoration methods one using a cookie cutter and the other using a polystyrene shape.  I decided to begin with what I deemed to be the easier of the two the cookie cutter to gain confidence before moving onto the polystyrene decoration. 

The wool we used is very special called merino roving wool and a unique barbed needle which I haven’t come across before.  The needle end isn’t smooth which helps to bind the fibrous wool together to create felt. 

To create the cookie cutter decoration I lay the wool fibres on top of the cutter and repeatedly stabbed the wool using the barbed needle periodically turning over the compressed wool which was resting on top of a piece of upholstery foam.  The process was completed when all the fibres had been bound together.   

image

I decided to not embellish the red heart as this could be done at home instead embark on the technique which I was actually a little nervous about failing to master. 

I used the same design idea as the tutor which was a Christmas pudding.  Firstly I created the brown pudding base. 

image

Secondly the white sauce. 

image

I made the holly by blending two different green merino wools together. 

image

Finally the little red berries. 

image

My little Christmas pudding and heart both turned out extremely well.  I was very pleased as this was my first attempt at needle felting. 

image

Throughout the workshop the Christmas music playing in the main garden centre could be heard which created for me a very festive atmosphere. 

The tutor was extremely helpful throughout and so lovely at the end gave me and the others two barbed needles, the foam block, another polystyrene shape of our choice and merino wool because it was a Christmas class. 

I left the worship very excited and determined to use my newly learnt skills.

My husband was very impressed by my decorations and I shared with my Mum via the phone about the class.  This followed by ordering some of my own needle felt craft supplies which I can’t wait to arrive. 

Today has been such a wonderful time of learning which I’m greatful for and excited by.  The class was made more enjoyable by the kindness of knowledge of the tutor and by the confidence I have found in this new skill.   

Happy Tuesday Friends!  🎄

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

