Mrs Heelis

On Friday my husband took me after much asking to The world of Beatrix Potter attraction.  In the past I have visited with my family including one trip with our Austrian relatives however not in recent years.  My husband had never visited before and I who has always had a great love for the Beatrix Potter stories couldn’t wait to pay this enchanting attraction another visit. 

Naturally with any attraction we visit we always have to visit the café or restaurant. 

image

The Beatrix Potter attraction has a lovely tea room which had scenes from The Tailor of Gloucester, one of my favourite Christmas appropriate stories. 

image

After a tea break or in my case a toasted tea cake and cup of hot chocolate we headed up the stairs to the reception area to buy tickets and a guide book which included a fantastic map if the attraction in the style of Beatrix Potters illustrations. 

image

While waiting to enter the first part of the attraction The Tale of Mrs Heelis, Beatrix Potters surname after she married her local solicitor William Heelis.  We were charmed by the lovely centenary clock to celebrate the time between 1902 – 2002 which chimes every half an hour. 

image

The attraction was enchanting just as I recall during my visits during the visits many years ago. 

The first depicting The Tale of Jemima Puddle-Duck

image

Followed by The Tale of Mr Tod.

image

Which then led onto the lovely Peter Rabbit Garden which was just lovely.  Peter’s blue jacket and tiny black shoes hung up were very sweet.  

image

The garden includes all varieties of plants which would have been known to Beatrix Potter and had tiny signs giving useful information. 

image

The attraction inside continues with various other charming creatures from Beatrix Potters world famous books. 

image

image

The most popular of all the stories has to be The Tale of Peter Rabbit. 

image

I even got a picture of Mrs Heelis!

image

The Virtual World of Beatrix Potter was extremely good and very interactive I had a picture with the younger Beatrix and her pet rabbit. 

image

The attraction ended perfectly in the gift shop. 

image

I’m thrilled with my named cup and have enjoyed a couple of hot chocolates in it so far.  It is made from fairly thin China and not the sort of chunky China that gift shop cups tends to be popularly made out of which I’m honestly not a fan of. 

I had a fantastic time especially because I had the opportunity to share it with my husband who had never before visited, maybe next time we will visit Beatrix Potters home. 

Happy Sunday Friends

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

2 responses to “Mrs Heelis

  1. Stephanie Goodman OTAS Penn Valley

    Your Miss Heelis blog is lovely and so inspiring! I would so very much enjoy going someday. What a lovely treat to wake up to!!

Leave a Reply

