Fire Alarm

We spent a couple of nights away in Wales and stayed in a dog friendly hotel which was really very nice and only a few miles drive from the beach. 

On the second night we all were tucked up in bed, with Tinkerbell in her little white fluffy bed we had brought with us from home. 

image

At around 11:30pm we all wake up to the extremely loud noise of a fire alarm and then it stopped and started again.  I looked down at Tinkerbell who’s bed was next to my side and she looked just like a deer in headlights. 

The fire alarm again stopped and I suggested my husband phone the reception for some advice however when he did the fire alarm began again and the only message we had from reception was that they couldn’t hear because the fire alarm was going off. 

I’ve sat through many fire talks and probably could be someone who gives training.  I know that the first rule on hearing a fire alarm is to exit the building immediately leaving personal property. 

This is what happened in room 21 my husband changed in to his jeans and t-shirt, I put Tinkerbell’s collar on and got her lead.  As my husband changed I put on my engagement and wedding rings and put my earrings in.  Already wearing my pyjamas I went to get my trainers on whilst holding a very worried puppy.  Before we left our room I ensured my husband had his car keys, phone and room card.

We left our room to find a couple of other hotel guests in the corridor and after a brief conversation I suggested that we head outside. 

I wedged the external fire exit that during the day is usually open with the large stone and a handful of people congregated outside. 

It’s was clear that no one was clear what to do, no representative from the hotel was here to seek advice from after a couple of minutes I realise that my pyjamas top was tucked inside my pyjamas so I quickly untucked if. 

Still waiting for the alarm to stop and advice from a hotel representative we decided to walk Tinkerbell around the carpark building to the main reception area. 

By now the fire alarm had stopped and we could see a number of people congregating inside and outside of the reception thankfully others were wearing pyjamas I held Tinkerbell to protect my modesty due to the lighting being bright.  We could see people sat chatting inside the hotels bar area. 

With this reassuring scene and still no idea the reason for the fire alarm we decided to walk back to the fire exit next to our room. 

When we arrive only two people remained and they remained contemplating if to close the fire door, I closed the fire door as I did the fire door hit my right shoulder and back. 

After around five minutes back in our room and two attempts to contact reception with regards to the alarm my back is feeling in pain.  I try a third time to contact reception successfully, at this point I have little concern over the fire alarm and request an ice pack explaining that I have hurt myself. 

The hotel strangely didn’t have ice packs and instead provided me with a tub of ice which I was thankful for and brought relief to my injury. 

We never found out why the hotel fire alarm went off but I’m relieved that it wasn’t a real fire and next time if we were in a similar position I’d probably bring with me a cardigan. 

Happy Wednesday Friends! 

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

3 responses to “Fire Alarm

  1. What an experience… Glad to hear it was no real fire and you are fine again πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

