Beans, beans good for your heart.

Yesterday I made sweet potato skins and shared how I had made them.

image

Along with these I also made a bean burgers from a Martha Stewart recipe that I altered.

Martha Stewart’s ingredients:
2 cans of red kidney beans washed. 
1 carrot (grated)
1tsp chili powder
2 eggs
Salt
(The recipe also included oregano and breadcrumbs but I didn’t use these)
I also added:
1 medium onion
Generous amount of chili pesto
Fresh chopped coriander

The method is very simple mash the beans.  I used my mini food processor. 

image

Add the the mashed beans the carrot, chilli, egg, salt, chopped onion, chili pesto and coriander. 

Then spoon a small burger amount into a pan and cook on both sides. 

image

The bean burgers are very tasty and a healthy and happier alternative to meat.  Red kidney beans are another amazing food which is natural and extremely beneficial to a great diet.  A quick google search will reveal many of the amazing benefits such as lowering cholesterol and heat problems.

My husband was very impressed by the Stewart/Karma bean burger collaboration as was I.  So much so that we enjoyed more freshly cooked bean burgers today, I’m feeling healthier already.  

Happy Monday Friends!  

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

