The perfect mother lie

I find many of the greetings cards for mothers day to be a lie.  Phrase’s like ‘you are the best’, ‘perfect mother’ and numerous othersmahen there are the social media comments these sharing similar sentiments. 

When I look around at the world I see so many terrible mothers.  Mother’s that mistreat their children, mother’s who spend most there time with different men than their children, those who sit at home all day and demand of their children to look after younger sibling’s and the list goes on. 

Society says celebrate mother’s however it fails to explain what we should be celebrating and even the true meaning of the original reason mothering Sunday was established in the UK is removed from what we understand today. 

Mothering Sunday was a historical holiday in which the young working girls could return home to visit their mother’s and family’s. 

Esteeming all mothers encouraging children to believe that they have the perfect mother when in possibly that mother is either a long way from any standard of being a satisfactory care giver or finds the task less than perfect. 

Many none mothers love and care without reward on this day.  They don’t get recognised, they don’t get thanked, just because they didn’t bring a child into this world they are treated very much as less important than those who did. 

I’m thankful that I have a good mum.  My mum was a good roll model growing she effortlessly showed how to run a house and take care of those her family but others around her.  She willingly provides and serves others before herself. 

Even though I’m not a mother and although I probably do things different I think of her when I do the clothes washing, prepare a meal, change bed linen and clean the bathroom.  I didn’t realise all that she did do for me and still does do until I had to be responsible for these tasks on her own house.  Thank you mum for your example I’m thankful that your my mum.    

image

Motherhood is a gift but so is life.  Whether you are male or female my hope would be that whatever you do would be positive and meaningful to those around you and in your care. 

Happy Sunday Friends! 

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

