Knowing the sign

This afternoon I decided that I would try and use the wool wash setting on my washing machine which I’ve never used before.  Normal afraid of damaging the knit wear I instead wash by hand however it always seems to take such a long time to rinse out the bubbles and the wool begins to be come very heavy, most definitely not one of my favourite activities to do. 

Five items of knit wear I have in my washing basket three new never before washed items.  Before the items make or into the washing machine drum I examine each items care label. 

image

This isn’t one of the five wool items but a new item which after wearing I refer to the care label so that I know how I will wash the item. 

I also refer to the information provide when we purchased the machine with regards to the wool wash to ensure the symbol was correct to the wool wash I had chosen to select. 

image

Martha Stewart’s Homekeeping Handbook is truly a fascistic resource for any home and includes a section in the book Laundry Room. 

image

One of the pages details a variety of Care Label symbols in an easy to understand table, which makes great reference and can be an excellent tool for decoding confusing care labels. 

With the help of the manufactures manual and the care label my wool items washed perfectly. 

Understanding what the symbol means is vitally important.  A number of years ago unaware of how to read a care label properly I placed a cream suit into the washing machine I didn’t refer to the care label or the machine manual.  My suit washed but became a lot smaller in size.

Having the knowledge or at least knowing where to seek it can help change the outcome. 

Happy Monday Friends! 

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

