Happy New Year little Ant!

I know Christmas hasn’t officially ended yet however it is my family’s tradition that on the 1st of January the tree comes down.  Whilst my husband was at his office today I decided to take down our Christmas tree.  Still not feeling well I had the help of Tinkerbell….

image

…and a cup of ginger tea. 

image

Our Christmas tree is a fairly sizable one and therefore took me around one hour to take it down. 

image

Each row of branches I tied together with ribbon and placed into the new tree box I purchased at the beginning of the festive season from Macro.  This special tree box has places to arrange the decorations and lights which sit nicely at the top of the box.  It was a very tight squeeze fitting all the tree in but I just about managed.  The box was so heavy that I could barely drag it across the floor and is momentarily sat behind the chair waiting for my husband to carry it up the stairs. 

A tradition of my family’s is the Annual Christmas Card Competition. 

image

I’ll share tomorrow how we run the competition the rules and the results. 

Lunch and dinner today for myself were the same, a little bowl of baked beans which I really did enjoy. 

image

Prayer, a tummy settling drink and rest after dinner really did help greatly, oh and not to forget snuggles with Tinkerbell. 

image

I spent some time making notes/reflections for THIS year!  It’s always good to put pen to paper I find as often with such busy lives or even just being forgetful having even the smallest idea or thought on paper means that it won’t be lost or forgotten. 

I decided to use space at the back of my FiloFax to store my thoughts breaking each area up to make it easier to collate my ideas. 

I’m going to choose to be all that I can be in 2015 and work hard like the little Ant mentioned in the bibles book of Proverbs.

…You lazy fool, look at an ant.
    Watch it closely; let it teach you a thing or two.
Nobody has to tell it what to do.
    All summer it stores up food;
    at harvest it stockpiles provisions.
So how long are you going to laze around doing nothing?
    How long before you get out of bed?
A nap here, a nap there, a day off here, a day off there,
    sit back, take it easy—do you know what comes next?
Just this: You can look forward to a dirt-poor life,
    poverty your permanent houseguest!…

Happy New Year Friend’s!  My hope is that 2015 is your year. 🎆

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

