The Nutcracker Ballet

Yesterday my husband and I went to watch Birmingham Royal Ballet performance of The Nutcracker, an early Christmas present from my husband. 

image

As like many little girls I took ballet lessons whilst at primary school and later in high school.  I continued my love of dance whilst at college studying contemporary dance so attending the ballet yesterday brought all my fond memories flooding back to me…

The Nutcracker really is the perfect ballet to watch at Christmas time with the story bringing worth a Christmas party on the eve of Christmas. 

In very short it’s about a girl Clara who is given a magical Nutcracker doll and how she flies away to a far away land and in the end wakes up to find herself where she began at the foot of the family Christmas tree. 

I felt that act 1 for me was more about the story and act 2 was more about the technical abilities of the dancers and of course the beautiful familiar Tchaikovsky music.  However both acts were absolutely fabulous and truly magical. 

My favourite part of the performance with regards to the set would be when at the strike of midnight the room grows I found this part wonderful the way the Christmas tree transformed from an average sized tree to a large tree which disappeared into the top of the stage to reveal only the base of the tree. 

During the interval I enjoyed a small tube of strawberry ice cream whilst my husband studied the programme. 

image

When act 2 concluded all the way home I talked about what a wonderful time I had, had at the ballet.  I even found it difficult to go to sleep as it has been such a magical Christmas experience. 

Most defiantly one incredible ballet with heart warming music.    

Merry Christmas Friends!  🎄🎁🎭

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

