Panettone with Dinner

On Saturday I hosted a casual dinner party for a very close friend and her family. 

image

I decided to keep everything very simple and begin with the main dish: shredded chicken which I prepared before my guests arrived. 

image

I first stuffed the raw chicken with a generous about of sage and onion stuff.  I loosened the skin and filled used the skin with cranberry sauce.  After cooking whilst the chicken was still hot I removed the stuffing, stripped the meat from the bones and poured the stock from the chicken into a gravy boat so that I could later use it to make a tasty gravy. 

I served the chicken with home made Yorkshire puddings, steamed green beans and asparagus steamed then wrapped in prosciutto.  With stuffing and cranberry sauce. 

Rather than serving my guests individually I simple placed all the food onto the table so that each person could help themselves to 1st, 2nds, 3rds and yes even 4ths! 

For dessert I made Panettone from Martha Stewarts book Handmade Christmas.  I did included almond and orange essence which Martha Stewart includes in another recipe which is online along with vanilla extract which the recipe I followed stated. 

image

One thing I can say about Panettone is that I didn’t realise just how time consuming making this festive Italian Christmas bread would actually be. 

image

The recipe stated that the mixture would make 3 however I decided to make 5 small panettone. 

image

Make panettone was an excellent decision as my guests gave many complements.  I served my panettone with thick double cream.

For those with a sweet tooth we ended the meal with a delicious hot chocolate with cream and marshmallows.  

image

Another successful and enjoyable evening.  🎄

Happy Monday Friends!  🎄

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

