Beauty of the Nativity

Last year I coordinated the Churches nativity.  I remember that we used Tinkerbell’s little bed as the manger and one of the little girls dolls as the baby Jesus.  We had wise men and shepherds, angels and of course the Mary and Joseph. 

When I was in my second year of primary school I played Mary in the school nativity wearing a  blue dress and white head scarf.  It was a special moment at the time and even when I recall this I consider it to of been a great privilege. 

Nativity plays and nativity scenes really can be very beautiful.  A couple Christmases ago my lovely husband bought me a stunning nativity. 

image

It’s such a beautiful  and artist nativity scene with biblical verses on the steps the wise men offering gifts a beautiful light over the manger and the reverse shows the shepherds coming to visit baby Jesus. 

Very recently I bought a Christmas magazine Your Home Christmas made easy. 

image

Inside the cover as above the message from the editor was a picture of the nativity with the magazine staff dressed as one from the nativity.  However what I didn’t particularly think was tasteful was that one of the the magazine staff had their head put onto the body of the baby Jesus. 

image

I realise that it isn’t the real baby Jesus’ body in the picture and I know that it’s “just for fun” however the birth of Jesus is a very precious and special time in the Church calendar and it just doesn’t seem right to take something so religious and turn it into something that appears to be for comic value only. 

One thing that I can be sure of I definitely won’t be wanting to cut that page of for my Christmas planner. 

Happy Tuesday Friends!   

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

