Christian and Muslim

Before I married or indeed met my husband I had always been exposed to different cultures and religions and naturally taught to have respect for differences that people may have. 

My immediate and extended family before marriage consisted of a small mixture of different cultures, English, Austrian, Polish, American and even American Indian!  I had friends from various cultures, races and religions and through marriage I have a whole new family which help as to the richness allowing me to be part of a rich diverse group of people I call family. 

I’ve always had a great appreciation for diversity and wise words from an Orthodox Church Father I took classes from once said that it is better to find similarities than differences. 

When I lived in a different city before I married I had a very good friend I would refer to her as my mum as she was such a wonderful lady who welcomed me into her home and into her family.  We didn’t have the same colour of skin the same nationality or even the same religion but that didn’t matter at all because the kindness and generosity I was shown was overwhelming.  We would often talk about the Bible and the Qur’an and centred on the similarities not the difference. 

Today my husband and I were given another hearty soup by the same lady from the Church who had given us soup the week before. 

image

We were also given a delicious meal by our neighbours who are celebrating Eid. 

image

The time we have been given to enjoy life is so small in comparison to the time line of history.  Embracing new ideas, working together, sharing life, and seeing similarities not differences is how we can begin to enjoy this rich life we have been given. 

On the way home from Church today we stopped off at a new sweet shop.  Sometimes people can even be reluctant to try something new, a new shop, a new brand, a new type of food. 

image

Life is rich let’s celebrate! 

Happy Sunday Friends! 

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

3 responses to “Christian and Muslim

  1. No matter the differences, food is the common ground that brings everyone together. Great post – I love the pictures (especially the last one of the sweets – they’re so colorful!)!

Leave a Reply

