Beautiful Bento Butterfly Box

Yesterday I came across some beautifully put together bentos.  Bento is Japanese for lunch box and really is a unique way of constructing a healthy and completely appetising meal. 

A bento box is normally divided into four:
1. Carbohydrates
2. Proteins
3. Vegetables
4. Fruit
The ratio being 4:2:1:1

Bento boxes are normally colourful, neatly packed different textures and flavours. 

This morning I decided to go to Sainsburys and buy bento like containers and set to work creating my own interpretation of a bento box. 

image

I bought two Sistema ‘to go’ boxes a pink for myself and a green for my husband. 

To help with this delicious task I also bought 4 Flower plugger cutters by Gala. 

image

A began by cooking some sushi rice washing before I cooked it for 10 minutes and then allowed it to sit for 30 minutes. 

image

I boiled two eggs, lightly cooked prawns and halloumi cheese . 

I sliced a carrot and cut up beautifully cucumber with my new flower plugger cutters.

image

I also used my flower plugger cutters to make sweet marzipan flowers. 

image

The top part of my Sistema ‘to go’ boxes I used primarily for the fruit and vegetables/salad.

image

The vegetables section I have added carrot, cucumber and tomatoes.  The fruit section I have used raspberries stuffed with mini marshmallows decorated with marzipan flowers a fig with an almond in it, marzipan flowers with cherries and chopped nuts.  The centre part I have added half an egg. 

The lower part of the box consists mainly of the carbohydrates and protein. 

image

To make the rice butterfly I used a silicon baking try.

image

I lay the rice on a bed of carrot and decorated around the edge with cucumber, egg and prawns topping with little flakes of seaweed. 

image

Two very healthy and yummy bento boxes. 

Instead of enjoying them for lunch we will dine alfresco this evening. 

For my first bento box I’m very pleased however the possible designs are limitless, I’ve even ideas for Christmas! 

Happy Bento Friends! 

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

One response to “Beautiful Bento Butterfly Box

  1. Pingback: SONS OF THUNDER | Day 3 of 90 (Personal Transformation)

Leave a Reply

