A cup of 20°c

As I sit enjoying a delicious hot chocolate in my office while the temperature is around 20°c outside I remember on a family trip to Edinburgh when I was younger visiting a Christmas shop in the school summer holidays I even remember that it was on the right hand side of the road at the beginning to the grand approach to the magnificent Edinburgh Castle.  Never will I forget how my dad wished the owner of the Christmas shop a Merry Christmas as he left. 

image

Yesterday I watched a Martha Stewart Christmas DVD ‘Martha’s Homemade Holidays’ with great excitement, noting down ideas and being inspired to try and make my own pasta. 

image

I’m not 100% sure why i’m completely fascinated by the Christmas season.  I try not to become but something inside of me is drawn to Christmas. 

I’ve begun to buy presents for Christmas, contemplate how I will decorate the house, what I will serve for Christmas, new traditions we may begin and decided how I will be making my door wreath this year. 

From as young as I can remember my dad used to take a holiday from work from the beginning of December all the way till the end of boxing day after this he returned to work.  Obviously my love for Christmas I really should thank my dad for instilling in me. 

My parents are so generous with the amount of lavish and thoughtful gifts they give at Christmas time.  Especially with neighbours and friends they would often and still do drop around gifts late Christmas eve so that the recipient wouldn’t be able to feel compelled to buy a gift in return.  This is something which I now do, I find it the most enjoyable way to give. 

With tomorrow being half way to Christmas I really feel that I should use my time wisely to plan for the season that celebrates the spectacular birth of Jesus Christ Gods only Son and the season which should be known for good will to all men and ladies! 

Christmas for me first and foremost is about Jesus.  After Jesus I have a very long list decorating, cooking, entertaining and giving gifts to others are joint second.   

Happy Tuesday Friends! 

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

One response to “A cup of 20°c

  1. ooooooooohhh so love the season as you do. My folks were Canadians transplanted to US and it was always weird the differences in customs. Mine were so much like yours! twelfth night, boxing day etc

Leave a Reply

