An Austrian Window

Yesterday evening I decided that I would like to change the blinds I made a couple of years ago for the kitchen as I have come to notice that the blinds didn’t allow for a great deal of light to come in. 

Therefore this afternoon I went to Dunelm Mill to buy some fabric to make some curtains. 

My inspiration for selecting the fabric was the gingham picnic table cloth I have as I think its very sweet.  I even contemplated using my picnic table cloth to make my kitchen curtains.

image

I spent a little time deciding if to pick the black and white fabric or the red ringing both my husband and dad to seek advice from.  They both said red so that’s what I picked, I also thought that the red would look beautiful for Christmas! 

image

I measured the fabric, cut, pinned and sowed my curtains. 

image

I also added to my window a small lace fabric that I had also bought from Dunelm Mill to allow for privacy but to allow light into the kitchen. 

image

The kitchen now looks very sweet and the way in which I have dressed the window has allowed more light into the kitchen. 

My mum said that my window looks very Austrian which is lovely as I’m part Austrian and I do lovely the traditional Austrian decor. 

After creating a little Austria I then sowed the black out fabric I had also bought into our bedroom curtains, no more sun shine at 4:45am waking us up!

Happy Thursday Friends!

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

