Martha Stewart Entertaining – Book Review

I enjoy entertaining, cooking, decorating for seasons, making and organizing these are a few of the likes I share in common with the great Martha Stewart. 

I’m not sure how I stumbled across Martha Stewart but very thankful that I did as she really is an incredible lady and after reading her book, Entertaining I have an even greater respect for her. 

Martha Stewart doesn’t appear to be terribly well known in the UK however most people who know me are made familiar with her and her fantastic abilities and wealth of knowledge. 

Last year from Amazon during the summer months I ordered four Martha Stewart Christmas books which I completely love and get so much inspiration from. 

image

This year I have order some more Martha Stewart books from  Amazon.  The book that has totally transformed my appreciation for such a wonderful lady and painted her in a new light is the book, Entertaining. 

image

The book begins buy outlining how Martha Stewart came to write a book on entertaining.  Martha shares how she had begun by giving her daughter and her daughters friends a little cooking lesson followed by posting an advertisement as a caterer and how her popularity escalated. 

The book in itself is very informative and helpful with wonderful ideas and unusual parties outlined such as hosting an omelette party which I’d never heard or thought about before. 

However what really inspires me is that Martha Stewart has built her business enterprise with hard work and determination using her skills and qualities not only to benefit herself but her readers/ followers.

The book is one of her earlier works and previous to my ownership I possibly believe that it was owned by a lady called Susie as the book has a hand written note and originally I suspect given as a wedding shower gift. 

image

‘Susie Bell!  Happy shower!  Thought I’d help you out on the domestic scene (blind leading the blind!) Much love, Con’

I only hope Susie found the book as helpful and inspiring as I do.  I’m also unsure why she we would discard such a book, however for my benefit i’m glad she did. 

I’ve never celebrated Thanks Giving with being British, however after reading this book I think I might!   

Happy Entertaining Friends!

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

