Yorkshire Curd Tart

Everyone enjoys a traditional British recipe, the following is best known in Yorkshire a county in the North of England. 

When visiting York my husband has tried a ‘real’ Yorkshire curd tart from the well know Betty’s tea room earlier this year.  So I decided to have a go at making one myself. 

Yorkshire Curd Tart

Ingredients:
Pastry:
1/2 cup butter
2 cups plain flour
1 egg

Filling:
Pinch mixed spices
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 eggs
1 tbsp lemon
3 tbsp melted butter
450g curd farmers cheese*
1/2 cup raisins and sultanas

* Sainsburys didn’t have curd farmers cheese so I bought something very similar.  It was a cheese ideal for baking items such as cheese cakes. 

image

Method:
Step 1.  Add butter, flour and egg into a mixer and mix until it becomes a smooth dough ball.

image

Step 2. Put all filling ingredients into a bowl and mix together. 

image

Step 3. Role out pastry and place into a tin. 

Step 4.  Add the filling into the pastry case and cook in the oven 185° for 45 to 60 minutes or until cooked properly. 

image

The Verdict: 
My husband reassures me that my Yorkshire curd tart tastes very authentic as he has previously tried it. 

image

I decided that because sharing is truly caring that I would wrap some pieces of the Yorkshire curd tart up to give to friends. 

image

Today I’ve been busy in the kitchen making a South African dish, so I also look forward to sharing this on my blog. 

A Very Happy Sunday! 

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

