Elk and sun dried tomato tarts

After a morning trip to IKEA whilst my husband was busy writing his one of his masters essays and his parting instruction being to my question what shall I make for dinner he said something tasty with eggs. 

So while at IKEA I picked up a packet of the Elk meat that my husband does enjoy and decided for a quiche like meal. 

So here is my own quiche like recipe…

Ingredients:
A small amount of pie crust pastry

1/4 cup of Elk meat (or any tasty cooked meat)
1/4 cup cheese cut into tiny pieces
1 teaspoon grated cheese
2 eggs
1 tablespoon milk
4 sun dried tomatoes

Method:
Roll out pastry and place into each of the four mini greased tins. 

image

Cook pastry in the oven. 

Into a little measuring cup I added the ingredients above.

image

I filled the pastry cases when removed from the oven with the mixture and returned the to the oven to cook the filling. 

When cooked I removed from the oven. 

image

The cases I baked the tarts in have a removable base which makes it very easy to remove the cooked tart for serving. 

My husband and I enjoyed one of the Elk and sun dried tomato tarts each with a health avocado salad for our dinner. 

image

The verdict:
One happy and impressed husband! 

Happy Saturday Friends!

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

2 responses to “Elk and sun dried tomato tarts

  1. These look yum but would other meat work just as good? We don’t get Elk meat here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

