Easter, it’s not over yet

I spent a good proportion of my day baking ready for Easter celebrations which are taking place this weekend at Church, sharing is caring!

My mini simnel cake recipe (which I shared yesterday) I put it again to good use this time using my Pampered chef mini muffin baking try to make some delicious mini, mini simnel cakes. 

image

The only difference between these and the recipe I shared is that I didn’t include a thin middle layer of marzipan. 

image

I did however add the top layer of marzipan which really helps to make these mini, mini simnel cakes special. 

Along with my simnel cakes I made Easter nests.  I decided that I would display them on this very seasonal cardboard cake stand which really does look delightful and especially spectacular for only £1. 

image

Before I put my home made bread in the oven I had a knock on the door.  When I asked my front door I found one of my friends who I hadn’t seen in a little while standing holding a lovely Easter cake box with four beautifully decorated cakes.  This act of kindness really blessed me.

image

I find that giving is a very good thing to do however our do the saying goes ‘it’s better to give than receive’ .  However when you find yourself on the receiving end of an act of kindness it can often leave you lost for words.  I however gladly and thankful received the beautiful cakes and found great pleasure in eating them with the help of my husband. 

Today many people as I did will attend Church services to remember what happened to Jesus on the cross.  Jesus gave his life so that forgiven and reconciliation may take place with the father.  Jesus the giver of life an act beyond kindness an act of pure love.  As the receiver of the gift what will we choose to say?  Do we receive the gift joyfully or choose to miss out?

Happy Good Friday Friends! 

 

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

