Shrove Tuesday

Shrove Tuesday is the day before Ash Wednesday and is a Christian celebration often referred to as pancake day. 
Christians use this day to think about areas in their life they need to repent or adjust or grow and ask God for his help. 

Shrove Tuesday is the last day before Lent a period of forty days. 

Often shove Tuesday is seen as a time of eating rich foods and the forty days that follow a time of fasting or giving up of certain foods. 

This evening my husband and I observed Shrove Tuesday with traditional pancakes! 

This year I cheated and used Betty Crocker Traditional Pancake Mix which is really easy all you need to do is add a certain amount of water into the bottle place the lid back on and shake.  However I decided to use milk instead of water. 

image

I added a tea spoon of oil to my Pampered Chef pan and a little of the shaken mixture when the oil and pan are hot. 

image

image

I even successfully flipped the pancakes in my 8 inch Pampered Chef pan.  Betty Crocker suggests using a 7 inch to make 6 pancakes however I made 7 pancakes! 

My favourite pancake toppings have to be lemon, honey and sugar.  Very traditional but it works and I absolutely enjoyed both of my pancakes. 

image

My husband however had ice cream and Dr Oetker cupcake chocolate icing with his pancakes!

image

Perfect pancake tip: use a hot pan for perfect pancakes every time. 

image

Watching all the pancake flipping must of made  Tinkerbell our miniature dachshund tired because after I had washed up I found her in her IKEA bed under her blanket with her teddy!

image

Happy Shrove Tuesday! 

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

