Big Chilli Sunday

The last Sunday of the month at the Church we share a meal together normally a buffet however last Sunday that all changed. 

I decided that buffets are good normally if co-ordinated properly but a delicious bowl of healthy home cooked food is a success every time.  

One of my good friends agreed to help and made a large pot of delicious chicken stew and I made my favourite chilli but this time it was super sized!  

If your cooking for a large group this chilli is perfect and will have people asking for seconds and even thirds!

Big Chilli Sunday

Ingredients:
Oil
Onions x8
Chopped tomatoes box’s x 5
Soya mince x4 packets
Corgetts  x4
Mushrooms x 10
Carrots x3
Chili con carne mix x 3 packets
Red kidney beans x 3 tins

Method:
Step 1. Chop all the vegetables beginning with the onions. 

image

Step 2. Add oil to a pan when on a medium heat add the onions.

Step 3. Empty soya mince into a bowl (I used my pampered chef large batter bowl) Add boiling water to the soya mince, cover and set aside. 

image

Step 4. Add vegetables into the pan.

Step 5. Add all the boxes of tomatoes.

image

Step 6. Empty the chilli con carne powder into the pan.  (I used three as I was unsure how people liked their chilli! Three however tasted fine)

image

Step 7. Drain soya mince and add.

Step 8. Add red kidney beans. 

image

image

I insured the chilli was cooked properly and cooked on the Saturday.  On the Sunday before eating the food I heated it up and served it in bowls with crusty bread.

image

The verdict:
My super sized chilli was delicious as usual.  Everybody who choose to have the chilli weren’t disappointed . 

I made the chilli with soya as I don’t like cooking with meat too often I feel sad about the animals.  Also it allows everybody the opportunity to enjoy a tasty meal.

It’s tasty yet completely easy to make for a large group. 

Happy cooking friends!  

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

