No place like home

Today we drove to my see my parents and Grandma.  This was the first time I have ventured back home since the funeral of my Grandad at the beginning of the year. 

Waiting for me on my arrival were a lovely pair of slippers.  Normally when I come back home I wear a pair of my Nana’s slippers she lives at my parents home however I now have my very pair to wear when here. 

image

After a tasty toasty made by my dad I watched him put together his train-set, the beautiful conservatory transformed into a professional train set enthusiast arena. 

image

My mum allowed my Dad to buy his train-set when he was going through his cancer treatment a few years ago.  Once the treatment had finished the train-set went straight back in the box. 

Today however it’s made a very rare appearance with an upcoming visit of my little cousin. 

Grandma came for her dinner today which was so lovely.  We all miss Grandad very much but happy to see Grandma still smiling as she always seems to do.

image

Grandad and Grandma used to enjoy going on picnics.  Today Grandma gave me a picnic set that her and Grandad had never used…. I love it! 

image

This evening we enjoyed a lovely home cooked meal a with a traditional Austrian helping of sauerkraut and for dessert apfelstrudel made by my Mum and Grandma – the verdict: Delicious!

image

What a special day shared with so many wonderful people I love. 

Treasure your family. X

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

