The lost art

Today I’m going to the post box to post a letter to my sister.  It has taken me I think two weeks to write and take it to the post box. 

image

My preferred way of communicating for work purposes is email.  Outside of work I still use email but rarely normally to receive rather than correspond. 
A month ago I wrote three cards in the same week a condolence card and a card to both grandparents. 

Pen pals used to be very popular when pen was put to paper to share something with another person. 

When I was at school I learnt how to construct a letter properly. 

The idea of writing your thoughts and feeling down that you wish to share, even your best wishes putting pen to paper today is as a rare happening for many. 

Posting letters can be a frustrating job too.  Where my parents live they have a post box opposite their house very convenient.  Where my husband and I live I think the closest is a 5 minute walk away!   Which I appreciate isn’t far however not as convenient as I’d like. 

Postage stamps are also very expensive I believe normally I will either use my husband’s or save any stamp which hadn’t been franked on the letters that arrives using a stamp and not a franking machine. 

I suppose with a little more organization into my schedule I’ll be able to make time to write and post a letters regularly, next time a little faster than two weeks. 

Many senior people have moved on from the carrier pigeon but still feel more comfortable putting pen to paper and using the royal mail.  Why not make a seniors day by writing them a letter?!

Happy letter writing friends! 

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

One response to “The lost art

  1. Yes, it is lovely to receive a letter or a card isn’t it. If you’re not sure who to write to you can look up amnesty international online. They have a write for rights campaign, and you can send letters to people who are facing persecution or an infringement of their human rights.

Leave a Reply

