Its a toadless hole!

With my new found knowledge of batter and the need for a speedy dinner this evening I decided to make a sausage-less toad in the hole.
https://abigailkarma.wordpress.com/toad-in-the-hole/

My substitute for sausages was a melody of cooked meats and a hand full of mushrooms!

Ingredients:

Cooked Meat
6 Mushrooms

1 cup of flour
2 eggs
100ml water
100ml milk
1 tablespoon French Dijon mustard

Method:

I add to a large bowl the flour, eggs, water, milk and mustard and whisked. (I used an electric whisk for ease) Once all the ingredients have been whisked together and the batter looks thick I set it aside.

I cut up the cooked meat and the mushrooms.

As with my Toad in the Hole I decided to use my Pampered Chef single servings stone to make individual batter toadless holes although if you don’t have such a stone using a rectangular or square oven proof dish will be suitable. http://www.pamperedchef.co.uk/ordering/prod_details.tpc?prodId=44428&catId=34&parentCatId=34

I added to each the meat and the mushroom evenly and then the batter over the meat and the mushrooms.

Cook the toadless holes in an oven – 200°c fan assisted oven for 30- 35 minutes.

Once cooked I removed the individual toadless holes from the stone about 2 minutes after I removed then from the oven.

The verdict:

Obviously different to the original toad in the hole however very tasty and easy to make. The mushrooms worked very well and added I different element. I wonder what a sweet batter would taste like!? Keep following my blog and over the next couple of days we will discover together the fruits of a sweet batter toadless hole.

Happy experimenting!

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

