Important Documents like Grandad

My Grandad was a wonderful organizer so this evening I have taken a leaf out of his beautiful book and organizer my important documents and paperwork. 

After Grandad’s passing a few days before Christmas getting the relevant paperwork together was vital.  This however was not at all a difficult task for my dad who found all the documents straight away in labelled files and document wallets all neatly organized and contained together. 

My dad reassured me that when I had to go through his paperwork it wouldn’t be easy at all as nothing is organized! 

The passing of a loved one is a dreadfully difficult time but the organization of documents my Grandad left behind has become a great source of inspiration to me.  

I enjoy very much being tidy and organized but I realised placing all the important documents and paperwork together isn’t organizing.  It made me realise that one day a loved one will have to go through my documents and paper working and a loving thing that I could do was to make it as easy as possible for them.  Or a little lighter thought is that maybe my husband and I actually may need to find something easily for ourselves or each other. 

My organizing comprised of the following:

Joint Documents – Passports, Driving Licences, etc.  Car Documents and Qualifications

                                        Husbands Documents –  

Personal documents –                                       Bank statements, Pay Slips, Contacts, Pension, Inland Revenue

                                         Wifes Documents

Joint Paperwork – Bills, Mortgage, Local Council Documents. 

Each of the above document types I filled together in a plastic document wallet eg. All my bank statements together in one plastic document wallet. 

I actually threw away a lot of unwanted items old envelopes and information pamphlets etc that I really didn’t need to keep making a lot more room in my storage area. 

This is only to begin of our important documents and paperwork organization however I know that every time I go to file a document or paper work item I’ll think of my inspirational Grandad and how wonderful his organization was. 

Hopefully you will be inspired to use the beginning of 2014 to become organized especially your important documents and paperwork…..Happy organizing friends!

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

