What to do when arriving home?

Yesterday my husband and I arrived home after the funeral of my wonderful Grandad.  I have been away for 2 weeks my husband for a week.  Arriving back after 2 weeks was very difficult however this is how I prepared for my return and how I organized my house when I arrived. 

A couple of days before my husband and I arrived home I decided to order our shopping online from Sainsbury’s.  In the past I have order my groceries online therefore it was very easy to select the items that I required by looking past orders.  I also selected a delivery slot in the evening so that it would firstly allow me to travel back allowing for delays but also enable me to carry out any activities I needed to do before the delivery the following day. 

If you have read my blog overflowing with provision about what is in our pantry you will know that I always have a box of long life milk.  A warm drink or a bowl of cereal can be welcomed by any driver of a long or indeed short journey and having a box of long life milk on hand minimises the worry of having milk in the fridge.   https://abigailkarma.wordpress.com/2013/11/28/overflowing-with-provision/

My parents are very kind and generous and it was fantastic that of my mum to have all our clothes wash and ironed.  I understand that it is not always possible to ensure your clothes are laundered however if it is possible it means that on your return home its one less thing to think about.

When we arrived home I gathered all the post together and set it on top of the hall table briefly taking a mental note of any letters that looked important.   

I began by unloading the car and placed the luggage in the hall way from here I could organized where each bag went.  All the bags including Christmas presents I took with the help of my husband up stairs into one of the bedroom.  – I find it helpful to have a place in the house in which I can immediately take everything to allowing the remainder of the house to be free from clutter. 

While my husband made a tasty southern fried Chicken and salad I set to work on taking all of the decoration down.  The down stairs decorations I packed into plastic storage containers and again took them upstairs to the designated room.  Last year (2013) I was extremely excited to decorate for Christmas and normally in January I’m feeling the Christmas anticlimax however this January I was very ready to de-clutter Christmas from the house. 

Changing the bed linen.  – Normally I would change the bed linen before I went away however because I had to leave for my parents home with about 45 minutes notice of getting the train I had very little time to prepare.  Therefore I put fresh bed linen on and opened the window to air the room.   

Using cleaning wipes I cleaned briefly the bathrooms and kitchen not that they were dirty but that the house had been not used for a week and I like to freshen everything up. 

I didn’t stop after my initial preparation and organization however this I think will help give structure and make any return after a long trip easier. 

My simple steps:

Online Shopping to arrive the day or in my case the day after your return home

Long Life Milk

Laundry – Wash before you go however if this is not possible have a designated bag to place all dirty clothes into so that they can be put straight into the washing machine. 

Luggage Zone – Somewhere to drop bags etc and close the door behind until you’re ready to deal with the luggage. 

Bed Linen – Try to change your sheets the day you leave if not the day you return.

Cleaning wipes – wipe around your bathrooms and kitchen.

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

Leave a Reply

