Grandad’s funeral

The funeral of my Grandad took place at 11am the sun was shinning. 

My tribute I shared at the funeral:

Phone calls with Grandad are one of the things I will always remember.  When I used to phone up:
Grandad – “hello” (sounding grumpy)
Abigail – “hello Grandad it’s Abigail”

When Grandad knew it was me he sounded like it was the greatest day ever. 

If Grandma answered the phone Grandad would also pick up the other phone and stay silent until I asked to talk to him and then he would burst into the 3 way conversation. 

I remember when I was little he would allow me to chose my own Christmas present from the Argos catalogue which was always very exciting. 

I remember impromptu sleep over’s at Grandma and Grandad’s house, I’d have great fun during the day but get very home sick when it was bed time.  Grandad used to get into bed with me until I went to sleep. 

Grandad loved cooking and if I’d ever made anything Grandad would always be the one to give in depth feedback. 

The day before Grandad died I managed to see him in the hospital and even amidst his obvious discomfort he still seemed to be excited to see me. 

I am very grateful that I got to know you and I will miss you greatly.  
image

We laid roses on Grandad’s coffin, many people turned up to pay their respects to such a wonderful man. 

About The Life of a Housewife

Abigail is married to a wonderful man. They have a very fabulous Mini Dachshund her name is Tinkerbell and now a very beautiful son. Abigail's absolute favourite time of the year is Christmas it has been since she was a little girl. Abigail' enjoys being creative, enjoy cooking, making and especially fond of organization.

One response to “Grandad’s funeral

  1. Lisa

    I stumbled upon your blog through th Internet. I’m sorry for the loss of your grandad. May peace be with you and your family.

Leave a Reply

